The Lady Tankers won their 9th straight AAC Conference Championship with an impressive TEAM performance.  “This is a great local conference with talented swimmers from all of the teams.   In order to have a chance to win this Championship meet, every athlete must contribute.  Some of our younger swimmers were asked to swim some difficult events and they answered the call.  Coaches Chelsea DeAngelo and Mark Brooks have worked very hard with our developmental group and these kids have become a pivotal part of our team strength,” mentioned Coach Cordon.

Off the blocks, the Spartans were led by seniors Madison Murphy and Lexxi Mihok.  Murphy, who was named AAC Swimmer of the Meet, broke a Boardman High School Team record, an AAC meet record, and the Warren G. Harding pool record in the 50 free with a time of 24.42.  Murphy also won the 100 Free with a time of 53.49.  Lexxi Mihok won the 200 Freestyle (2:01.00) and the 100 Back (1:00.42).  Murphy and Mihok, along with Petra Crnjak and Gina DiNapoli, also set a new AAC Meet mark in the 200 Medley Relay time of 1:50.74.

Single event winners and AAC First Team Awards for the Spartans include:  Gina DiNapoli in the 100 Butterfly (59.42).  Gina also nabbed 2nd in the 50 Free (26.12).   Aly Murray won the 500 Free (5:39.23) and placed 2nd in the 100 Back (1:02.22). Petra Crnjak won the 100 Breaststroke (1:11.02) and placed 3rd in the 100 Free (59.36).

The Spartan Tankers also nabbed 1st in the 200 Free Relay with DiNapoli, Crnjak, Lexxi Mihok, and Murphy with a time of 1:42.65.

Other Top 3 places include: 2nd place for Sam Murray in the 100 Free (58.50) and 3rd in the 200 Freestyle (2:09.62), 2nd place for Julia Basista in the 200 IM (2:28.14), 3rd place for Morgan Russo in the 200 IM (2:31.54), Abbi Mihok 3rd in the 50 Free (26.56) and 3rd in the 500 Free (5:51.26), Mazie Kauffman 2nd in the 1 meter diving (337.15) and Lily Warren 3rd in the 1 meter diving (227.50).

The Spartans are back in the water at YSU Beeghly Natatorium with a meet on Wednesday January 18th against Poland, Austintown, and Champion.

*Contributed by Chelsea DeAngelo at